Teej Festival » Kinds of Teej

Kinds of Teej

Kinds of Teej

There are three Teej festivals in a year namely, Hariyali, Kajari and Hartalika Teej. All the three versions of Teej are celebrated with immense fervor and gaiety. Certain rituals and traditions are associated with different types of Teej celebrations. Teej festival's craze is increasing day by day. More women are celebrating the festival with utmost devotion. The festival is also attracting many tourists to be part of its celebration. The three types of Teej are briefed below:

Hariyali Teej: It is celebrated in the Shukla Paksh of Shravana corresponding to the month of August. Hariyali Teej is also called Teejen. On this day, women worship moon. Hariyali Teej signifies greenery and so women wear green colored dresses and bangles to mark the auspicious occasion. They also make merry by singing and dancing on various traditional Hariyali Teej songs.

Kajari Teej: Kajari Teej is celebrated on Krishna Paksh Tritiya, the third day of the month of shravan. The festival is identified with blackish shades of clouds during the monsoon season. Kajari Teej is time to perform sacred pooja of neem amidst various rituals and traditions. Women sing various Kajari songs in praise of Lord Krishna.

Hartalika Teej: Hartalika Teej is celebrated with gusto and mirth on the third day of the first fortnight of the month of 'Bhadra'. On this day, women observe 'Nirjala Vrat' (fast without food and water). They worship Goddess Parvati for long and conjugal life of their husband.

Copyright © Society for the Confluence of Festivals in India (SCFI). All Rights Reserved